Different ways to configure plugins through lazy vim what do they mean and which one do I use?

Hi everyone,

I’m really new to the whole neovim thing and I’m figuring out my way to setup a good environment for my programming needs. I’m following this awesom youtube tutorial by chris@machine I’m using lazy.nvim as my plugin manager and when trying to install nvim-cmp I found that I need to configure it and when searching on how. there where multiple ways :

• editing the opts spec in lazy.nvim
return 
{
    "hrsh7th/nvim-cmp",
    opts = function(_, opts)
         -- configurations
    end,
}

what does opts = function(_, opts) mean, and how it’s actually called?

• editing the config spec in lazy.nvim
{
    "hrsh7th/nvim-cmp",
    config = function()
         -- configurations
    end,
}

what is the different between config and opts ?

• the last one was by chris@machine on his repo nvim-basic-ide which is an update one from the one he is using in the tutorial, but basically his way is like that
local M = {
  "hrsh7th/nvim-cmp",
}

function M.config()
  -- configurations
end

return M

like what M.config() means? when it will get executed ?

I read the lazy.nvim github docs about opts and config but I didn’t fully understand everything and I feel they are the same thing and I tried to search online but I didn’t find any thing useful?

I’m just trying to understand what I’m doing and not just copy pasting from online dotfiles

sorry for the long post

2 Likes

Here is a my current configurations

For the first and second questions you should read the lazy.nvim documentation and perhaps how it is useful in LazyVim

For the third question it is equivalent to M.config = function(.... you can then see it is equivalent to the second questions example

I read the lazy vim documentation for otps and config and didn’t get much, but, let me tell you what I understood :

• First for opts spec