Looking for init.vim on windows

I am a beginner user of vim/nvim. I am trying to find the init.vim file as most tutorials out there change this file to customize neovim.

I am on windows and I used chocolatey to install nvim. I was trying to find init.vim folder in c:/user/<user_name>/AppData/Local/ folder, but I only found nvim-data folder. I could not find the nvim folder

Using :help base-directories command I found out that nvim-data is Data directory, and nvim is the config directory.

My question is why nvim folder is not created already along with nim-data? Is there any process to create the nvim folder and the init.vim file within it?

Thanks!

Maybe you’re looking for :help init.vim. Actually :help vimrc-intro is better.

But addressing your concern, the init.vim file needs to be created by you the user, why? Because it’s a user configuration and unfortunately will have to be created by the user, so you just need to manually create the nvim folder and the init.vim file.

Here is how you can do it in powershell:

mkdir ~\AppData\Local\nvim && New-Item -Path ~\AppData\Local\nvim\init.vim -Type File

And then you can edit the file in nvim with :edit $MYVIMRC

Thank you very much!

Also, I am wondering if there is any structured resource available that introduced what I can put in the init.vim - or what more can I do with init.lua + lua?

1 Like

You could always look up videos on youtube, that’s how I learned it, a quick vimrc search on youtube can give you a start

Lua configs are quite new, I haven’t seen many articles/resources out there on how to get started. The main on I’ve seen is the nvim-lua-guide which is really good. Outside of that, you can look up other users config on github or on reddit.