Neovim freeze on last tab quitting

I’ve been using neovim for a couple years, and have had good experiences customizing it to my liking and debugging issues as they arise. This latest one has me stymied, however.

Neovim will freeze when the final window is exited with either :q :q! or :qa! The same result occurs if I run it as-

nvim -U NORC

Which interestingly still loaded my config. It was evident because my Airline theme was visible. So I renamed my config file and retested with no config and the result is the same. I then tested nvim outside of X11 on the tty and the result is the same- frozen. I even tried reinstalling it although I figured that wouldn’t make a difference.

If I have multiple tabs or windows within neovim, I can exit each of them without problem until the final window. I tried running it with -V10nvim.log I scanned the log but saw no useful messages. I do not think I can attach it here.

So neovim with no config run on the tty even after a reinstall. I cannot think of another way to reduce the variables to a known, working state. Any ideas on how to further debug? System info is below, and please let me know if any further info will help.

By “frozen” I mean the cursor returns to the first column of the line, nvim remains in the terminal, and no known combination of keypresses will change it’s state.

┗╸❯❯❯ nvim -v     
NVIM v0.4.4
Build type: Release
LuaJIT 2.0.5