`textlock` documentation is quite poor. Should we improve it?

Hey guys!

I’ve been working on a plugin that does heavy UI manipulation (change text in buffers, resize windows, simulate keypresses using nvim_feedkeys, doing all the above with defer_fn etc etc).

However, some of the scenarious I’ve written didn’t seem to work. At this point I started learning about neovim eventloop, neovim fast events vs regular events, and was able to debug most of my issues.

However, there exists a mysterious beast called textlock. Some of my scenarious don’t work yet, and I suspect that this textlock thing is the issue. Putting aside what I do exactly, let’s consider current documentation for textlock. It does tell you what is forbidden to do while textlock is active, but it does a very poor job explaining WHEN textlock occurs and WHY textlock occurs, which might be very important for plugin developers to understand what’s going on.

You might tell me that these things are too complex for user-faced documentation, but

1. real users will rarely need consulting textlock docs anyway - I’ve been heavily using Vim/Neovim for 4 years and never needed it
  2. plugin developers ARE users of vim/neovim, and they need information that empowers them to solve problems and not leaving them scratching heads not knowing what to do.

Concluding this, I need advice - should I open an issue in Neovim repository with a request to improve the documentation? Just wanted to verify with a community that this is important and appropriate.

Even if the answer is “yes”, the issue should be opened at the Vim repository, since that is where this documentation is taken from (as part of the regular runtime file updates).

Hey! Thanks a lot for letting me know that. I’m having some further doubts, though. Now, let’s for a minute imagine the answer is yes, then consider the following statements:

• getting something done at Vim repository is nearly impossible